top of page
  • Writer's pictureAngie

Banned and Challenged Book Reviews

Updated: Feb 26




February's FOLD Challenge is to read a book that has been banned or challenged in Canadian Schools. This is definitely a subject I'm interested in, and so while I will definitely be reading some banned books this month, I have decided to look back on some of the books I've read that have been challenged and my thoughts on them.


I'm going to start by including some of the lists that I've found online and where I had found them.




Some of my biggest shocks from this list are:

Where's Waldo

The Witches (Roald Dahl)

and multiple Judy Blume books?!


There were also a few I will definitely sharing my ideas on: Of Mice and Men, Bridge to Terabithia, The Outsiders, To Kill a Mockingbird, Flowers for Algernon, and my choice for this month's FOLD challenge: The Handmaid's Tale



Some of my biggest shocks for this list are:

And Tango Makes Three, Captain Underpants and Junie B Jones (all of which I think I'll talk about this month).


Ones I plan to review: The Kite Runner, Angus, Thongs and Full Frontal Snogging





Books I might try to check out:

The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian, The Glass Castle, The Hate U Give


Ones I plan to review: George, Nineteen Minutes, 1984



I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter - Erika L. Sanchez

Animal Farm - George Orwell



I really like this list from Playground Equipment

And it helped me discover A Stolen Life by Jaycee Dugard


Canadian List (many of the books on this list were listed above, but It was great to confirm that these were books banned in Canadian Schools)

I have been considering picking this one up for a long time, and this month's fold challenge is the perfect time. I'm not going to guarantee I'll love it, but I am going to give it a shot!


I also want to share about David Robertson and his book, The Great Bear that was briefly banned in Ontario schools, supposedly because: the book contains too much "culture and ceremony." https://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/toronto/banned-book-the-great-bear-1.6436418


And speaking of The Great Bear, here are some Middle Grade Books that have been banned:

I haven't read Blended yet, but it is by one of my favourite MG authors; Sharon Draper and it is on my shelf so I might try to sneak this one in soon!

I will also definitely be commenting on Melissa (George) and Front Desk!


And looking a little closer to home: https://libguides.brandonu.ca/c.php?g=735042&p=5294064 Here are some of the books that were almost banned by Brandon School division



 


This month I'm reading and reviewing a variety of challenged and #bannedbooks as part of @the_fold's reading challenge and in honour of I love to Read month. Today I'm sharing my thoughts on some kids books that have been banned.


And Tango Makes Three

This one was actually challenged in a school division in my province fairly recently. I have heard this one read to my students by the librarian at my school and it is totally not worth any controversy. Two male penguins in a zoo take care of a baby, named Tango. Of course the concern is showing two dads but more on that soon...

My thoughts: Even considering banning it is dumb.


Captain Underpants

This was a popular series a few years back, it is now often replaced by some of Pilkey's other works like dogman. I do find that some reluctant readers really enjoy these silly books. Apparently they have been banned for violence, I wouldn't say I've noticed anything worse than most "superhero" comic style stories.

My thoughts: Well it's in my classroom library so you can probably guess.


Junie B Jones

She was my favourite character growing up and I love that this spunky little lady is still a fan-favourite for some kiddos. This one is banned for "poor social behaviour" and bad grammar/spelling. I get the grammar/spelling argument, and do I wish maybe Barbara Park might have gone with a little less silly spelling, it does make Junie who she is and I clearly learned to read somehow despite devouring all her books so 🤷‍♀️ As far as social behaviour, there are much worse role models out there, believe me.

My thoughts: Again, it's in my room and I love her.


The Family Book

This book is filled with weird shaped and coloured family members and teaches kids that all types of families are ok. There is nothing wrong with this book, because it features all kinds of families that exist out in the world, including families where both parents are the same gender.

My Thoughts: being gay isn't banned (at least in Canada!) so this book should not be banned.


Oh Marlon Bundo... If you don't know about this book, you need to go get crave and watch Last Week Tonight with John Oliver, also climb out of that rock while you're at it 😂 This book is really a parody, much like the rest of the TV show it is featured in, but really, much like the penguins, and the family book, having gay characters is a good thing. Children need access to diverse stories and that is exactly what all three of the picture books in this post are about.

My thoughts: it's a cute book, and a little bit of a joke, but doesn't need to be banned.

All month I've been reading and reviewing books that have been challenged and banned as part of @the_fold's February challenge. Here are three books that I read as an adult and was glad I did.


The Kite Runner - Khaled Hosseini

This one does have a rape scene in it, so I see why it might be challenged. I read it as an adult, but I think that students in late teens would be fine reading it, probably grade 11+ but I think that there is a lot this book can offer a young adult reader, especially with the guidance of a good teacher.


Nineteen Minutes - Jodi Picoult

I was probably 18 or 19 when I read this one, so not too far removed from high school years. The premise of this book focuses on bullying, suicide and school shooting, so obviously a controversial topic, but one that is so relevant today. I remember being a teen and wanting to know more about this topic after seeing an episode of a teen show about it, that was when I was probably 13 or 14, I think that kids in later high school years should read this book, and it would definitely be fine.


To Kill a Mockingbird - Harper Lee

After having not being told to read this in high school I decided to read it as an adult. This one is banned for supposedly being racist and using the n word, which I think is not a reason to ban a book but instead a reason to teach history. We need to learn about the harms of the past in order to have a better future. This is a prime example of a book that when read with a supportive teacher, has the power to teach important lessons.


As this month draws to an end, I have yet to find a book that I feel should not be allowed in a school. When it comes to curriculum and what teachers should be reading with students, I think that comes down to professional judgement and appropriate teaching. Taking a book off a shelf does not mean that students will not read that book, but offering a book in a safe and supportive environment, like a classroom, is actually a much better option than them finding it on their own.


Don't ban books!



This month I am exploring challenged and banned books as part of @the_fold's challenge, and today I'm sharing my thoughts on three classic books I read in High School that are often challenged and banned. (PS, is anyone surprised George Orwell is on this list more than once?)


Animal Farm

Published in 1945, "Animal Farm" is a novel about a group of animals on a farm that decide to rebel against the farmer, Mr. Jones, in the hopes of creating a society where all the animals are seen as equal and are free. In their attempt to create this society, a pig named Napoleon overthrows their attempt and instates a dictatorship in which he is the dictator. (Read More: https://www.thelist.com/1122886/the-real-reason-animal-farm-became-a-banned-book/) While some bans and challenges state sexually explicit content, really it was banned for alleged communist propaganda.

Discussion: 14 year old Angie definitely was confused by this whole communism piece, but the fact that pigs are intelligent creatures who do create systems of governance and power within their groups was not lost on me. As a young adult I actually taught some programs on gestational crates and factory farming, and I definitely drew on my knowledge from Animal Farm.

My thoughts: no need to ban, but good teaching about politics is important.


Flowers for Algernon

This one is about a man using an experimental drug to become more intelligent. Again, it is supposedly banned for "adult themes" or "sexually explicit themes".

Discussion: 15 year old Angie does not remember anything sexual happening in this story, and I have some pretty good memories of awkward class discussions in high school so I think I would remember it. I remember liking but not loving it, and it reminding me of Of Mice and Men.

My thoughts: unless I am really forgetting something terrible, I can't see why this one needed a challenge to begin with, and I definitely think it should stay off the ban list!


1984

This Dystopian story written in 1949 explores war, power and surveillance, imagining a futuristic time which has long since passed. This one was banned for... you guessed it, sexual content and pro-communism.

Discussion: 16 year old Angie again does not remember any sexual content from this one. But as a Big Brother fan even before I read this book, the idea of being watched and having secret conversations, plotting against others, etc are all things I devoured when I read it.

My Thoughts: With so many popculture references to 1984 today and in the past, I feel this is a must read, not something to be banned. Plus with social media, now is as good a time as any for teens to reflect on being watched.





Happy #MiddleGradeMonday! This month I am exploring challenged and banned books as part of @the_fold's #februaryreadingchallenge 


Here are four fabulous middle grades that have been banned or challenged and my quick thoughts on them.


Bridge to Terabithia - Katherine Paterson

This was a huge fave of mine growing up. I remember reading this as part of a lit circle or reading group in grade 6. Preteen Angie was certain she would grow up and turn this into a movie (I'm not going to lie, I was actually pissed when I found out it was being made into a movie and I wasn't any part of it lol). My assumption for why it was banned was around death, but I'm surprised to learn that it is actually because of both religion and magic.


Melissa - Alex Gino

First of all, let me say that I am so glad that this book was rereleased with this title. I have wanted to read it with a class, but haven't yet. There is a little bit of discussion around what is under Melissa's pants, but nothing too crazy that an older middle grade reader couldn't handle, especially with adult guidance. While the official reasoning for bans seems to be "sexual references" I think that's code for LGBTQ+ content. My View: Definitely should not be banned.


Front Desk - Kelly Yang

I have read this with my 4/5s and they enjoyed it. There is a bit of minor swearing, which I will admit I censored while reading aloud, but nothing that makes it inappropriate for middle grade readers. Turns out it was banned because of “divisive and controversial subjects” and “taught Critical Race Theory.” That's bogus. My View: Definitely should not be banned.


The Great Bear - David Robertson

Ok so I haven't fully read this one, but I have read The Stone Child, another book in this series and other books by this author which were all incredible. From a CBC article: Robertson says there are no racial slurs or offensive content that he can think of in his book, noting it's about standing up against bullying and creating representation for Indigenous youth. The article goes on to say that a leaked email said there was "too much culture" which in my opinion is absolutely absurd and goes against reconciliation. My View: Definitely should not be banned.


I think that any time you read a book to a class of students it should be previewed by the teacher. I also think the process for buying books and culling libraries should be deliberate and well planned. Placement of books with more controversial content should be well thought-out, and children need access to safe adults to ask questions to while reading. But banning books is not a way to prevent kids from accessing inappropriate content, and Middle Grade readers are at a perfect age to start questioning the world around them. With guidance, controversial topics can be discussed and learned about in a successful and intellectual way. Books are great places for these conversations to start, and banning them just prevents any future discussion from coming through.


A



s part of my goal to read and review frequently challenged and banned books this month, I recently read The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian. This one was on the frequently banned list from 2010-2019 by https://www.ala.org/advocacy/bbooks/frequentlychallengedbooks/top10


According to the ALA, The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian was the most-challenged book in the United States from 2010 to 2019 and was named one of the top ten most challenged books in 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2017, 2018, and 2020. Evidently, this book has been challenged due to “vulgar language” and “explicit reference to male or female genitalia of a sexual nature.” I can't disagree, there are definitely references to boners, jacking off and other similar ideas, but in all honesty, it's nothing compared to many other YA novels I've read.


It reads like a middle grade novel, which may be why some adults worry about the content, as I wouldn't really approve of anything sexual in an MG. The comic style drawings and some of the descriptions make it seem like it would appeal to young readers in a similar way as diary of a wimpy kid and others. It reminds me a bit of how The Simpsons might not be appropriate for young viewers despite being a cartoon and appealing to those audiences. I think as long as it is shelved appropriately this one is fine to stay in schools and in fact, I think that the benefits out weigh the concerns by a lot. One really poignant section that stood out to me was when main character, Arnold, explains that one of the main differences between him and his white classmates is the number of funerals they've attended. I think that non-indigenous readers might not have considered this before and as sad as it is, I'm not surprised by this idea. Loss and grief are a huge part of the histories and lives of Indigenous people in Canada and the United States and are often part of the cyclical nature of addiction and trauma. In addition to thought-provoking narratives, this story also gives an opportunity for Indigenous teens to see similar representations in books, an important piece of both reconciliation and culturally diverse library collections.







This month I am reading and reviewing a variety of books which have been frequently challenged and banned as part of @the_fold's February Challenge.


Jaycee Dugard was kidnapped in June 1991, when she was 11 years old. Her captor repeatedly raped her and subjected her to many inhumane practices before finally coming forward and inadvertently releasing her 18 years later. It is a really interesting story, and I appreciated the reflections and journal entries that were scattered throughout. I think it takes a lot of courage to share this kind of story and hope that writing it was a cathartic process for Dugard. I also would think that this may be helpful read for people wanting to learn more about these kinds of cases, or for victims of similar crimes hoping to find some peace by reading someone else's story.


I can see right away why this one would be banned, it has some very graphic content, including drug use, sexual and physical abuse, neglect, and really, just the subject matter in general; abduction, is not something that is appropriate for young readers. But this book is not written for young readers, it is an adult memoir, and when it comes to adult readers, in my opinion, there is no need for a ban. That being said, it seems like there are bans and challenges related to younger readers, which might have some validity.


I think of Room by Emma Donoghue and the movie adaptation, which has similar content and is rated R for violence, language and implied sexual content, Dugard's book has all that and graphic descriptions of her abuse. Why wouldn't this book come with a caution? When I read that it was removed from 7th grade classrooms in Michigan in 2014, I'm more shocked that it was there to begin with... In the same way that we monitor access to R rated content for minors, I agree that this book should be monitored as well. This doesn't necessarily mean banning it, but it also shouldn't be left out for middle schoolers to read. If it somehow is seen as appropriate by a teacher or school district, perhaps keeping it in a safe place and signing it out to specific students is a better plan.


My View: Don't ban any books including this one), but be mindful of who has free access to books with graphic or explicit content and ensure we introduce these books to younger readers only when appropriate and with guidance!



The Hate U Give

This month I've been reading and reviewing challenged and banned books as part of @the_fold's reading challenge. I had been wanting to read The Hate U Give for a while and so this prompt made me finally pick it up.



The Hate U Give by @angiethomas tells the story of Starr, a 16 year old who watches her close friend be murdered by the police, and then covers the weeks and months following where she is asked to come forward as a witness and has to make some really difficult decisions. Starr attends a private school outside of her neighbourhood and finds herself codeswitching and constantly trying to keep her two sides of her personality straight. Her friends and boyfriend at school don't understand her community and culture, and yet she struggles to fit in at high school parties in her neighbourhood. The story of course covers police brutality and discrimination, but also covers issues like drug addition, microaggressions, incarceration, gangs, grief, protests and the meaning of true friendship.



As with many YAs, the writing in this one is incredible. As an adult I enjoyed it and didn't feel too old to be reading it, but I can also see how the plot and conflict would bring teens right in. I completely understand why this book is contentious, there is a lot of swearing, but really, my grade 1s know the F word, grade 12s can certainly read a book that has swears in it. Rather than banning it, I would have a conversation and perhaps choose a similar book for that student to read if it was really a problem, but as with all of the books I've reviewed this month, the good in this book way outweighs the bad and I would go as far as to say this is a must read for young adults (and really adults) everywhere!




This month for @the_fold's reading challenge I read and reviewed a bunch of books banned or challenged. The Handmaid's Tale is one that I have been wanting to read for a while, but was also unsure what I would think of it, this seemed to be the perfect opportunity for me to try it.


There's a long list of reasons why it has been challenged and banned including: profanity, overly sexual tones, being anti-Christian, featuring LGBTQ+ protagonists, and being overall morally corrupt. Here are my thoughts on those: yes there was a bit of profanity and sexuality, I can think of two instances I would consider before reading this with a high school class, but really I think it is fine. The rest of that.... anti-Christian? I'd say it is showing what life could be like in an extremely devout Christian community, and encouraging readers to consider the problems with an extreme shift in governance, not necessarily solely related to Christianity, but in law and order in general. I don't think Atwood is saying "don't be a Christian", I think she's saying "there can be problems with extreme religious sects." There is barely any LGBTQ+ themes in this, nor should that be a problem, and "morally corrupt"? I don't think that really see that... Is there some sexual references? yes. Should it be banned? no.


My thoughts on the book:

I actually enjoyed it quite a bit. I am not a dystopian/sci-fi etc. reader, but there were some interesting themes in it and I did make it all the way through. I even thought to myself that I might just need to read the next book, something I was not expecting early on. I'm glad I gave it a shot and much like the other books I discussed this month, having access to a variety of books and ideas gives us more to think about, and that is why book bans shouldn't be a thing!


16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page