top of page
  • Writer's pictureAngie

Doc Showmance

Updated: Jan 29, 2023

From USA Today bestselling author Zoe Forward comes a new enemies-to-lovers veterinary RomCom.

Synopsis:

I would say Dr. Ian Todd is my archenemy. But that would require us acknowledging each other, which we haven’t done since we graduated veterinary school.


He’s famous. As in, he’s the world’s “Sexiest Veterinarian Alive” with his own wildlife TV show and a string of glamorous girlfriends.


I’m infamous as a reality TV emergency veterinarian with a snark mouth, take-no-crap attitude, and zero dating life.


When asked to fake a romance with him on TV to boost my ER show’s ratings, I want to say no-way, but the extra money will pay off my brother’s loan shark debt. Even though Ian broke my heart, playing his love interest shouldn’t be hard, especially if it means getting to watch him squirm.


Lines get blurred when the TV setups stop feeling fake. Can I chance this might be real love?


Review:

I definitely enjoyed this book! For the most part, it was your average romance but I really enjoyed the veterinary and reality tv aspects that were added in. I loved medical dramas, and this one had just enough of those kinds of scenes - life saving surgery, awkward patient-doctor checkups, day-to-day life in a medical setting, with the added bonus of it being about animals not people. I've never worked in a vet clinic, but I did work at an animal shelter that had an onsite vet clinic so I have a bit of an understanding of what life looks like in those settings and I found this believable. The author is a vet herself, so that probably helped too. The reality TV part was good too, the added drama that the cameras and producers caused definitely helped keep the story moving and it was also believable and as realistic as reality tv can be!


I liked both Amber and Ian's characters. I think it was really great that Amber was confident and didn't lose sight of her motivation and values just because of the TV show or romance with Ian. I loved the contrast between their backgrounds, Amber was a foster child and worked really hard to get through vet school but also created her own family and community with other people who went through the care system. Ian, however, grew up in a very wealthy lifestyle but feels as though he is on the outside of his own family. They also demonstrate the importance of getting to know someone for who they are not just the persona they put forward when in front of other people - or a camera!

The writing was good. It was in the alternating POV style, however Amber's chapters were about double in number compared to Ian's, which I find a little annoying because then in Ian's chapters it feels a bit weird since you're more used to Amber's narration. There were also a couple plot holes, which might have been worked out since the version I read, but they were pretty easy to get over. I also didn't really understand why Amber wanted to end things in Chapter 36, it felt like it was sort of sudden and not really backed with any problems, where a break up could have definitely been tied to the need to move on career-wise or something more directly related to the reality tv drama. At the end I also didn't love that her sister told her to think with her lady parts not her brain. All through the story Amber's main consideration was education and finances and she was so close to the end of her residency, why would she choose to leave that all behind for a guy when she had stayed strong for so long? Plus if Ian was the right guy for her, don't you think he would want her to finish her residency since it was what she wanted all along? In the end, there is a nice neat tying up of loose ends and female empowerment continues so no big issues, just my own little pet peeves.


I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who is looking for a fun contemporary romance. I will also definitely be looking for Zoe Forward's books in the future! It was an easy read and had enough additional elements to keep me hooked and wanting to continue reading, so that is definitely a win for me when it comes to romance books!


What are you waiting for?

Grab your copy!




And of course, you definitely need to check out this awesome giveaway and get your amazon wishlist ready!


Thanks so much to Gisele and Xpresso Book Tours for giving me the chance to join this tour! It is always a lot of fun to read a great book and see what other tour members think! To check out the other stops on the tour click here


ABOUT THE AUTHOR

USA Today bestselling author, parent, wife, veterinarian, chocolate lover. Author of spicy paranormal and contemporary romances. Zoe Forward brings readers the perfect combination of action adventure, romance, humor and a bit of magic.

Her novels have won numerous awards including the Prism, Readers’ Choice Heart of Excellence, Golden Quill, Carolyn Readers Choice Award, and the Booksellers’ Best Award. You can find her residing in the South with a menagerie of four-legged beasts and two wild kids.



5 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page