top of page
  • Writer's pictureAngie

Menstruation Matters

This non-fiction book explores in great depth the challenges we face as a society at making access to appropriate products for menstruation accessible for all people who need it. Topics covered include but are not limited to: ensuring access to menstruation products in schools and prisons, breaks or leaves for employees who are menstruating, FDA regulation of the chemicals, production and disposal of these products and the rights of transgender people in relation to menstruation.



Despite being a woman in my thirties there was still a lot of information in this book that I was completely unaware of, from the chemicals found in menstruation products (not just my limited understanding of tampons and Toxic Shock Syndrome), the terrible treatment of menstruating prisoners in the United States (I'm sorry, how much did you say 2 tampons cost them? $5+???) to the fact that in some places you can purchase crocodile meat and sprinkles for your cake without tax but pay a 25% tax on menstruation products? I hadn't thought too much about tampon tax before I read this book, but my eyes have definitely been opened to this problem, as well as related issues of accessibility both in Canada/US and abroad!




This was definitely an interesting read and I was surprised by how hard I had to fight to put it down! I also spent the last few days spouting off interesting facts about menstruation products to (sometimes unwilling) listeners! Who knew I could become so passionate, so quickly about something I despise each month?! If anything I've just mentioned in this review intrigues you, there is A LOT more you can discover in the pages of Menstruation Matters by Crawford and Waldman. Get yourself a copy and go learn things! Thank you Netgalley and the publisher for giving me the opportunity to learn so much through reading and review this excellent book!

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page