top of page
  • Writer's pictureAngie

Mental Health for Minis: March Edition

Today I would like to share a few up and coming books that feature stories related to mental health and social-emotional learning for children in the age range of 3-10. Emotions and mental health difficulties can be hard for teachers and families of young children to approach and I think that some of these titles may be a great step in the right direction for some adults who little friends who need help. I'm hoping to continue to share Mental Health books with my readers in the future, but for today, here is your March edition!


The Struggle Bus

This is a great book about perseverance and what to do when things are hard. The rhyming and rhythmic writing creates a gentle calm as you read, and the message is clearly communicated in a way that young people can understand, even through the use of metaphor. The story ends with some information and tips as well as some strategies for what to do when things are really tough. I think this would be a great book for parents of young children who have a fixed mindset or become upset when thing are hard, It would also fit in nicely in an early years classroom or an elementary school library, and even potentially in counselling or other educational support settings. I so appreciate Netgalley and the publisher for giving me the opportunity to read and review this book!





Invisible Me


This book tells the story of a child who feels invisible and what she does to change that. While the child is likely cared for and treated well most days, this could be a really important message for children who are neglected or discriminated against. Whether it happens often or just once in a while, it is really hard for young children to feel not seen, and one of the first steps is to help show them that they are welcome in our classrooms or communities through diverse stories like this one. As a grade 3 teacher I think this is a fantastic book that needs to be in my classroom library and in other classrooms and homes all over! The rhythmic rhyming nature of the writing evokes calm even while sharing a really scary topic for young children - being forgotten or unloved. I so appreciate Netgalley and the publisher for giving me the opportunity to read and review and advance copy of this book! I can’t wait to go out and purchase a copy once it is available to purchase.



Mr. Gray and Frieda Frolic



This story is about Mr. Gray, a dull and probably depressed character whose neighbour, Frieda, is very vibrant, colourful and cheerful. When an accident involving a missing bird occurs, Frieda, introduces Mr. Gray to a world of colour and joy. It is a sweet story with nice use of metaphor and a message about letting others in, opening up and trying new things. I can’t see this book being the most popular book in my Grade 3 classroom library, but I could see reading this book to my students when talking about metaphor or feelings. The book is nicely written and would be appropriate for children approximately age 4-10.


Thank you to Netgalley and the publisher for giving me the opportunity to read and review this book!


Peacock is a Little Shy

This picture book, filled with beautiful and inviting illustrations, shares the story of a peacock who has not yet opened his plumage of feathers. Throughout the story the peacock helps other animals by using his feathers as a broom and a bridge, but not yet opening up his beautiful feathers. At the end of the story he sees a female peacock who he thinks is beautiful and he finally opens up his feathers. He is proud of himself for finally opening up. I think that this is a beautiful metaphor for trying something scary and also letting others get close to us. Opening up his feathers also allows him to open up to those around him.




I would recommend this book for families and teachers of early years students in the PreK-3 age range. I could also see using this book in art to look at the contrast between warm and cool colours or to create some beautiful peacock artwork.



I really appreciate the opportunity from Netgalley and the publisher to read and review an advance copy of this book! I am looking forward to purchasing a copy for my students in the future!


Angry Me

Angry Me is a picture book about a little girl who experiences some big emotions. The story shows that people get angry sometimes and for a variety of reasons. The story also ends with the little girl creating some artwork as a strategy to help with her anger. It also gives readers a chance to see what others’ reactions might be to your anger. I also like that it includes the idea that sometimes we can’t access language when we are angry, when she is unable to find the words to describe what is happening. We often tell children to “use their words” but sometimes they are not in the right space to do that and I think this is an important part of teaching social-emotional lessons.





Each page has detailed pictures and limited text, usually 2-3 sentences. I think this book would be an excellent addition to a PreK-3 classroom library and could also be used in family or therapy settings as an opportunity to help young children discuss their feelings.



I really appreciate the opportunity from Netgalley and the publisher to read and review an advance copy of this book! I am looking forward to purchasing a copy for my students in the future!





4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page