top of page
  • Writer's pictureAngie

Shy Girls Can't Date At Christmas

Updated: Jan 30, 2023

Shy Girls Can't Date At Christmas

By: Milly Rose @shy.author.milly.rose

After reviewing Shy Girls Can't Date Billionaires (click here to see my previous post) by Milly Rose back in September as part of an Xpresso Book Tour, the author reached out and asked if I would like to be part of her launch team for this fabulous new Christmas YA. Things kicked off with a cover reveal, and then a few days ago I got a copy of the book. Scroll to see the cover and my thoughts on this sweet shy girl YA romance!


Blurb:

Is the season of giving enough to bring us back together?


I wish I never saw it. But there he was, standing right in front of me, threatening other kids. Did I expect anything less from our school's worst bully? And now that the vice principal handed down his punishment, he assumes I ratted him out.


Being on the organizing committee for the Christmas dance was supposed to be fun. But now Beau Stevenson is forced to join us. We’re enlisted to teach him school spirit, but all we give him is terrified faces.



I’ve always strived to be an academically gifted good girl. My overprotective single dad warned me about bad boys like him. But now being stuck together after hours in the gym, buried memories resurface. When we’re alone, he’s no longer scary. Instead, he’s attentive and kind.


No one at school knows the secret Beau and I share. For years I’ve only seen him as a brute, but can I give this boy a second chance? There’s a deeper side to him. Is he willing to permanently become the boy I once loved?


➡️ Preorder now for Nov 21st release date‼️



My Synopsis:

This fun YA novel with a forced proximity trope tells the story of a shy girl named Ava who finds herself running a committee for the upcoming school Christmas dance. Ava is a shy introvert who hyperventilates when the attention is on her! When her principal announces that the school is trying a new type of detention and the school bully, Beau, is suddenly on her planning committee, she has to figure out a way to take charge even though she doesn't like the spotlight, and find a way to get along with Beau. Ava quickly begins to remember why she liked Beau when they were kids, and tries to figure out what role he may play in her life going forward, but first, they have a dance to plan!




I appreciated the character development and the slow introduction of information about their pasts. Additionally, while both main characters grow and change over the course of the story, Ava really blossoms and learns a lot about herself and who she wants to be as the novel progresses. I also liked that it was generally quite tame in the romance area, as I would be comfortable recommending this book to young adults and teens. With teens in mind, I think that the very high school themes, such as cliques, clubs, dances and hiding part of the story from your parents, are all things that young adults will relate to and be interested in.


I am so glad I had the chance to read and voluntarily review this book! Thanks to the author, Milly Rose for giving me an advance copy!









3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page