top of page
  • Writer's pictureAngie

Siri, Who Am I?

I'm not actually 100% sure how I stumbled across this book. My TBR pile is a bit of a tumbling tower of constantly changing priorities. What I do know, is that the library contacted me and said I put this book on hold and I'd better come pick it up asap or I will most definitely get a fine. So at some point, probably fairly recently, I decided I needed to read this book, searched for it on my library's app and waited for my name to be called. For someone with a pretty fantastic memory (if I do say so myself...) I am starting to sound a little like Mia, the main character of this book! I don't think a traumatic brain injury caused this lapse in memory so much as a ridiculously long list of books I want to read right now and a huge number of sources recommending books left and right, but after reading Siri, Who Am I? no explanation of recent memory loss is off the table!



This book is a fantastic light read, it is nothing too heavy or complicated and after reading People Love Dead Jews by Dara Horn (Review coming soon), this one was the perfect book for report card writing procrastination! Mia wakes up after a coma and is tasked with the enormous task of trying to figure out who she is and the only tools she has are a prada dress covered in blood, her cellphone and some relatively unhelpful hospital staff. Like most millennials, Mia's life is pretty easy to look up online, but as she tries to find her personal information, like her address and last name, she unravels a winding breadcrumb trail of pieces that make up her life. With the help of her insanely rich boyfriend's housesitter, a couple of secondary characters that are all strung along the shady spectrum and her trusty instagram account, Mia discovers her previous life may not have been exactly what it looked like online.


This book is an easy read, I could definitely it being the beach read everyone needs this time of year, but it also isn't fluff. There are some mystery elements and you do need to pay attention. This is not my best skill during report cards and there were a few times I had to go back and think "Wait, when did we meet that person? How did they know Mia again?" It made me imagine how Mia must be feeling trying to piece her life back together! There is also a classic love triangle, some tension that leads to an almost missed opportunity for love and one semi-steamy sex scene, but nothing you need to worry about reading near grandma who is feeding the chipmunks across the dock (just my life?). The cover and title are cute and scream millennial, so definitely give this one a shot, it might just be bookstagram-able!



Did she just say Bookstagram? Segway into some news? I'm going to be honest. I am a millennial who has no clue how instagram works. But I'm ready to give it a shot. Don't expect too many cute "flatlays" (I think that means a picture from above with a bunch of props next to it? Props? Really?), most of my books are e-books anyway (though, I did some research, apparently there is this whole thing about not judging people who take bookstagram photos of their kindles...), but I'm gonna give this a shot. Wish me luck! And maybe head over to insta to give me a follow? Or a double tap like? Is that what those things are called?




2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page